the simple saver

coupon savings made easy

My Firsts! July 7, 2010

Filed under: Healthy Eating — thesimplesaver @ 9:48 am

Mark & I are trying to transition our diet to as many whole, natural foods as possible.  This is definitely a process and we are just beginning.  We are busy researching, reading, and learning about nutrition and how foods affect our bodies.  A lot of our new knowledge is simple common sense…eat what God created for food!  Since I am a teacher and it is summer, I am “playing” all day with new ways to cook and prepare food.  Here’s a look at what I have accomplished this week: My Firsts!

Homemade Taco Seasoning using this RECIPE.  I decided to make my own so that I can control the ingredients and have no added sugar.

Homemade Chicken Stock using this RECIPE.  I used the rotisserie chicken recipe because Mark’s parents bought one when they were here this weekend.  The stock was so simple to make and doesn’t have lots of additives like the store bought kind.  And it’s cheap!  After I made the stock, Mark happened to look at a store bought box we had in the fridge…it has MSG in it!  Yuck!  Homemade sounds good to me!

Cooked Dried Beans using this RECIPE.  I cooked black beans & kidney beans and I was amazed at how much cheaper it is to buy the dry beans!  We’re going to need the extra room in the budget as we begin to buy healthy meats.  I chose to freeze mine since we don’t need them for a recipe this week.

 

Leave a Reply

