the simple saver

coupon savings made easy

Homemade Laundry Detergent Recipe October 29, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — thesimplesaver @ 9:26 am
Tags:

So…last week, I searching “How To” videos on youtube just for fun and I ran across “How To Make Your Own Laundry Detergent”.  I was really curious so I watched a few videos.  Surprisingly, the recipes were very easy and cheap.  Also, the people in the videos swear by their homemade concoctions.  Being the out-of-box person that I am, I decided to give it a try!!  Here is the recipe that I used:

1 bar of Ivory soap

2 cups of Borax

2 cups of Washing Soda

What to do…

Grate the full bar of Ivory soap with a cheese grater.  Add the Borax and the Washing Soda.  Store in an air-tight container.  Use approx. 1/4 cup per load for an upright washing machine.  And you’re DONE!  (Please note: This detergent does not produce a lot of bubbles.  That does not affect the ability to get your clothes clean.)

I spent $7.25 total on the items and have enough for 3 batches with some Borax and Washing Soda left over.  I bought the Ivory soap and Borax from Wal-Mart.  The Washing Soda came from Kroger.  Make sure you buy WASHING Soda and NOT Baking Soda!  Both the Borax and the Washing Soda were found in the laundry detergent aisle at the respective stores.

Now…what about price and quality?  I roughly estimate that making detergent this way saves my small family of two $109 per year!  Not bad on just one household product!  As far as quality goes, I am very satisfied so far!  The detergent does not have a strong odor but it cleans very well!  My husband would not have known the difference had I not told him…and I washed our sheets first.  I have no complaints!

Go ahead…give it a try!  You know you want to!  =)

 

3 Responses to “Homemade Laundry Detergent Recipe”

  1. Abigail McLendon Says:

    When you say 3 batches what does that mean? 3 loads of laundry?

  2. thesimplesaver Says:

    No! I have enough stuff to make the recipe 3 times!

  3. Abigail McLendon Says:

    ohhh….MAN that does save a lot of money!!!! =)


Leave a Reply

